Indianapolis Colts quarterback Peyton Manning made history today by being the first person to win 4 NFL MVP (Most Value Player). Brett Favre (Minnesota quarterback) is the only other player to have won the award three times, winning from 1995-97.

He received 39½ votes to 7½ for Drew Brees of New Orleans. Only four players — all quarterbacks — earned votes. The other two were Philip Rivers of San Diego (2) and Brett Favre of Minnesota (1).

Manning also won in 2003, 2004 and 2008, breaking a tie with Favre at three MVPs.

Peyton Manning got 39½ votes compared to Drew Brees’ 7½, Philip Rivers’ two, and Brett Favre’s one.

“I’m very humbled and grateful to be honored with this award and I really feel like it is a reflection of our team,” said Manning, who guided the Colts to a 14-0 record before they rested starters in the second half of two games and finished 14-2.

“I have to believe that starting 14-0 and having seven comeback wins has a lot to do with this award coming our way, and I’m very grateful to all the players and the coaches and our fans, who were a big part of it. There were a number of other extremely deserving candidates.”Source:

Colts quarterback Peyton Manning makes history with 4 MVP

Manning has had a stellar 2009 with finishing with a career high 68.8 completion percentage, 4,500 passing yards (10th time in his career), 33 touchdown passes, 10 interceptions, and a passer rating of 99.9.